85955 Territorial Road

Eugene, Oregon 97402

541/935-2100 Fax 541/935-6107


BOARD MEETING                                                                                             NOVEMBER 14, 2005

CROW HIGH SCHOOL                                                                                    7:00 PM

English Room


Board Chair:______________________________________Superintendent:_________________________




6:00 PM                Executive (Non Public) Session.  Session under the authority of ORS 192.660 (1) Personnel


7:00 PM                1.0          Call to Order


Board Chair, Jeff Ramp called the meeting to order.  Present were Directors, Paul Atkinson, Andy Stahl Wellborn, Dean Livelybrooks and Mike Wiederhold.  Staff Present: Superintendent, Eileen Palmer, Administrative Assistant, Lee Ann Hartwig,

Principals, Ron Osibov and Kathi Holvey. Marshall Sperling, and Krin Hunt.  West Lane News reporters were present.


1.1                 Call to order-Flag Salute

1.2                 Review and acceptance of Agenda

1.3                 Approval of Minutes Regular Board Meeting October 10, 2005


Moved by Andy Stahl Wellborn, seconded by Paul Atkinson, and carried 5-0 to accept the October 05 Regular Board Meeting minutes as presented to the board.


Moved by Andy Stahl Wellborn, seconded by Mike Wielderhold and carried 5-0 to accept the Special Board Meeting minutes from October 17, 2005 as presented to the board.


1.4                 Next Board Meeting December 12, 2005, 7:00 PM, Lorane Elementary Library


1.5                Introduction and Comments of Guests and Representatives


None at this time


1.6                Board Chair Report


Board Director, Dean Livelybrooks announced that he was reelected to the OSBA Board for another 2 years at the recent conference held at the Marriott in Portland.  Board Chair Jeff Ramp thanked him for his continued support of small schools through his representation on the OSBA Board.


1.7                Staff Reports


a.        Superintendent, Eileen Palmer submitted a report regarding the HOMES project and the meeting held with Anne Williams representative for St. Vincent DePaul.  She also reported on the up coming Dental Health screening. (see submitted report)

b.       Principal, Kathy Holvey presented to the board a draft of the Discipline Handbook that she is putting together for the elementary’s.  She also spoke to the board regarding the recent Curriculum Committee meeting held on October 25, 2005. (see submitted reports)


2.0                Review and Correspondence to Board


a.        Discussion was held regarding the recent letter submitted by Canham, on having an open campus during breakfast and lunchtime.  The board agreed that would not be in the best interest of the students or the district and directed, Superintendent Palmer to send a letter to Chris regarding their decision.


3.0                Consent Agenda


The following procedures for the consent agenda are established by Policy.  The Superintendent recommends adoption by single consent motion the following listed items which are identified on the agenda by a double **.  Any of these items may be removed from the consent agenda by the director notifying the Superintendent at least 24 hours prior to the meeting that the director will request that the item be considered separately and as regularly listed on the agenda.  Items that remain on the consent agenda will be acted upon following the “Preliminary Business.”


The affected individual, organizations or institutions shall be notified that the item has been removed from the consent agenda and informed of the approximate time for consideration.  Persons who request the opportunity to address the board prior to action shall be granted 15 minutes for such presentations.  If a director request the removal of an item at the meeting without prior notification, that item will be considered at the next regular board meeting.


4.0                Financial


4.1                 General Fund Financial Statement

4.2                 District Accounts

4.3                 Check Register Payment of Claims against the District.


Moved by Dean Livelybrooks, seconded by Mike Wiederhold and carried 5-0 to accept the reporting of agenda items 4.1,4.2,and 4.3 and further approves the payment of claims against the district listed in agenda item 4.3.


4.4                 Budget Committee Nominee’s


Moved by Mike Wiederhold, seconded by Paul Atkinson and carried 5-0 to accept RESOLUTION NO 05-03 to accept new budget members, Seat #1 Helen Nagel, Seat #4 Doug Perry.


5.0                Curriculum


Discussion was held by Marshall Sperling, Test Coordinator and the board regarding the district report card from 2004-2005. Conversation was held regarding how to read the report cards, what factors play into the scoring and how they can be affected by student’s participation, High needs students, etc.



6.0                Transportation, Building and Maintenance


a.                    New busses scheduled to arrive November 16, 2005


7.0                Policies


a.        Wellness Policy Committee is being formed and will begin meeting after the first of the year.

b.       First Reading policies BBBA, IGBHE, GBC,IHGA, INI, IGBHB, AND IKF


Moved by Andy Stahl Wellborn seconded by Dean Livelybrooks to accept the first reading of the following policies: BBBA, GBC, and INI.  Motion carried 5-0. 


The board will continue to address the following policies: IGBHE, IHGA, IGBHB and IKF.


                                8.0          Personnel (see attachment E)  


a.             Moved by Paul Atkinson, seconded by Andy Stahl Wellborn and carried 5-0 to accept the following Extra Duty Contract.


                Jason Gard                            Middle School Football                      $500.00

                Lisa Mattox                           Middle School Volleyball                   $500.00

                Jenny Ledgerwood              Middle School Basketball                   $500.00

                Rob Herbison                       Middle School Basketball                   $500.00


b.             Moved by Mike Wiederhold, seconded by Paul Akinson, and carried 5-0 to accept RESOLUTION NO05-04 that approves the Administrative Staff to receive a 2% increase on wages and a 10% increase on insurance cap.  Administration can reopen next year for negotiations.



                                9.0          Meeting adjourned at 8:55 PM