85955 Territorial Road

Eugene, Oregon 97402

541/935-2100 Fax 541/935-6107



Board Meeting Minutes June 29, 2009

Lorane Elementary 6:00 PM


Board Chair:_______________________________Superintendent___________________________



6:00 PM Executive Session (Non Public Session) Session under the authority of ORS 192-660 (1) Personnel (2) Negotiations


Meeting was called to order by Board Chair, Dean Livelybrooks. Present: Directors, Jeff Ramp, Andy Stahl, Tracy Evans, and Denice Goodheart, Superintendent, Dr. Don Anderson, Administrative Assistant, Lee Ann Hartwig, Marianne Anderson, Darren Willits, Lisa and Kevin Mattox, Vicki Simonsen and West Lane News Reporter



6:45PM Supplemental Budget 2008/2009


Moved by Andy Stahl, seconded by Jeff Ramp and carried 5-0 to approve the Supplemental Budget as submitted for 2008/2009 for Food Services.


6:50 PM Budget Meeting for 2009/2010


No further discussion was held regarding the submitted CAL Budget for 2009/2010. Meeting adjourned 6:57


7:00 PM Meeting was called to order by Board Chair, Dean Livelybrooks, at 7:00 PM. Present were directors, Tracy Evans, Andy Stahl, Denice Goodheart, and Jeff Ramp. Staff Present: Superintendent, Dr. Don Anderson, Administrative Assistant, Lee Ann Hartwig, Patrons: Vicki Simonsen, Kevin Mattox, Lisa Mattox, Pam Kerguard and West Lane News reporter Jessie Higgins.


I.                    Flag Salute

II.                  Agenda Review

III.                Public Comment of Non agenda Items: Vicki Simonsen informed the board and patrons that they were looking for patrons to help water the gardens.

IV.                Board Chair Dean Livelybrooks, thanks both Andy Stahl for his time on the board and Superintendent Don Anderson for his 2 yeas as the interim for the school district.


V.                  Action Items:


Moved by Andy Stahl, seconded by Denice Goodheart and carried 5-0 to accept the consent agenda as follows:


Approval of the hiring of the following personnel for 2009/2010:


Mike Murry Basketball Coach $ 3,000.00

Steve Grube Cross Country Coach $ 3,522.00

Tim Pinson Head Football Coach $ 3,000.00

Michele Kau Volleyball Coach $ 4,006.00

James Burruss JV Football Coach $ 1,500.00

Steve Grube Track Coach $ 3,862.00

Michele Kau Asst. Track Coach $ 2,000.00

Billy Anderson Athletic Coordinator $ 12,000.00

Tina Dworakowski Annual Advisor $ 1,531.00

L.Livelybrooks Jr. Class Advisor $ 765.50

Sadie Thorin Jr. Class Advisor $ 765.50

Pat Dixon Music Programs $ 3,326.49


Approval of Policy JEB- Early Entrance


Approval of the Organization for 2009/2010


(a)                Dave Standridge-Business Manager/Deputy Clerk

(b)               Lee Ann Hartwig and Mike Proffitt/Asbestos Management

(c)                Superintendent, Susan Nakaba, School Principal, Ron Osibov, Administrative Assistant, Lee Ann Hartwig, Maintenance Supervisor, Mike Proffitt, Technology Director, Ken Hamilton designated as Supervisory, Confidential and/or Administrative employees to be excluded from the bargaining unit.

(d)               Joe Richards of Luvaas, Cobb, Richards and Fraser, PC-Contracted Legal council.

(e)                Superintendent, Susan Nakaba and Dave Standridge be authorized signatures on all district accounts. If one of these persons is not available the board chair is authorized as the second signer.

(f)                 Superintendent, Susan Nakaba is authorized to apply for federal, state regional and private grants that may benefit the school district to include obtaining state and federal surplus properties.

(g)               Newspaper of record- West Lane News

(h)                Insurance of Record-PACE

(i)                  Dave Standridge is authorized to make interfund loans from the general fund to special funds as needed to be repaid by the end of the subsequent fiscal year June 30, 2010.

(j)                  US Bank, Siuslaw Valley Bank and the local government investment Pool be depositories for school funds.

(k)                Auditor firm for the district for 2009/2010 Pauley-Roger and Company.


Approval of Board/Budget minutes as submitted to the board.


Moved by Jeff Ramp, seconded by Tracy Evans and carried 5-0 to accept the Budget and Appropriate Taxes for 2009/2010 as submitted by the 2009/2010 Budget Committee.


VI Board Director Jeff Ramp informed the board of the recent senior trip in which he chaperoned. He stated the students were well behaved all had a great trip and the district should be proud of their behavior.


VII Information items submitted:


a.                   May 2009 check register

b.                  June Enrollment


VII Items for next agenda


       Darren Willits Seat #5 sworn in

       Board Chair/Board Vice Chair selected

       Introduction of Superintendent, Susan Nakaba


Meeting adjourned at 7:27 PM